ICC Champions Trophy is a highly coveted and prestigious tournament in Cricketing world. Tradition of ICC champions trophy goes as far back as 1998. It was then called as ICC Knockout Cup and played in Dhaka. To get best possible tournament coverage and experience you can watch champions trophy 2017 live on YuppTV. The tournament is scheduled to start from 1st, June 2017 with the first ODI match being played between England and Bangladesh.

Before we get caught up in tournament fever, let us take a trip back in time to relive the winners’ journeys in previous Champions Trophy tournaments.

ICC Champions Trophy 1998 (Winner: South Africa, Runners Up: West Indies) First thrilling tournament then called as ICC knockout trophy was held at Dhaka, Bangladesh. The winner South Africa had an unchallenged run as they successfully knocked out England in Quarter Final, and Sri Lanka in Semi Finals to qualify for the Final. In Final, West Indies batted first and scored 245 runs. Kallis was the key player and took a five-wicket haul. In reply South Africa managed to chase the target in 47 overs for the loss of 6 wickets.

ICC Champions Trophy 2000 (Winner: New Zealand, Runners Up: India) In a bid to bolster cricket among other nations, the second tournament was held in Kenya. The winners New Zealand faced Zimbabwe in Quarter Finals and Pakistan in Semi Finals. After a close Semi Final, New Zealand faced India in Final for the penultimate victory. India won the toss and put on a size able total of 265. In reply New Zealand started chased the total for the loss of 6 wickets in 49 overs. Despite a shaky start of 132/5, New Zealand won in 49th over due to partnership of Chris Cairns and Chris Harris.

ICC Champions Trophy 2002 (Winners: India and Sri Lanka) Both India and Sri Lanka had undefeated runs leading up to the final. India defeated Zimbabwe, England and South Africa while Sri Lanka scored victories against Pakistan, Netherlands and Australia. Fans were disappointed as the Final match ended in no-result due to heavy rains. On both 29th and 30th September, match could not be finished, and thus both teams were declared as co-champions.

ICC Champions Trophy 2004 (Winners: West Indies, Runner Up: England) the 2004 champions trophy edition was played at England. England defeated Australia in Semifinal while West Indies defeated Pakistan easily to qualify for the final. In the final England batted first and scored 217 runs with Trescothick’s century. In response after a tough match West Indies won by 2 wickets in 48.5 overs.

ICC Champions Trophy 2006 (Winners: Australia, Runner Up: West Indies) Sixth edition was played in India. Australia qualified for the finals against defending champion West Indies. Match was highly uneventful as West Indies were bowled out for 138. In response Australia made 116 at the loss of 2 wickets. Australia won victory through D/L method with 41 balls to spare.

ICC Champions Trophy 2009 (Winners: Australia, Runner Up: New Zealand) Defending champions Australia faced off against New Zealand in final. Australia went on to become the champions’ trophy winner two times in a row. New Zealand in first innings scored a meager total of 200 in 50 overs; Australia in response easily chased the target for the loss of 4 wickets in 45 overs. Shane Watson’s 105 contributed towards Australia’s victory.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 (Winners: India, Runner Up: England) after a 4 years’ gap, England and India faced off in the finals for the 8th edition of ICC Champions Trophy. Due to heavy rain, match was reduced to 20 overs. India under Dhoni’s enigmatic captaincy scored 129 runs in 20 overs. In response, England scored 124 runs and lost the match by mere 5 runs.

This time around England is hosting the tournament and YuppTV is broadcasting the Champions Trophy 2017 live for Canada and European fans. Do not miss this exciting showdown between the ultimate giants of Cricket. Follow YuppTV to get the best coverage and you can also watch IND vs SA Highlights